The Call (From Psalm 139)

By: Cynthia Ann Katon-Alfonso

Sep 10 2011

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: My Poems and Garden

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:55mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/59 sec
Camera:NIKON D60

 

Lord, You have searched me and You know me…

You have called me from nothingness

And fashioned me in Your mind…

You gave me a name and wrote it in Your journal

–The Book of Life, and appointed my own Birthday

As my parents enrolled me in this world of humanity

That day I was born…

 

Tomorrow is another birthday, so many of them already,

Your journal about me must be long by now,

But You never get tired writing progress reports

Of me–my mood, my behavior, my thoughts, my fears,

My strengths, my weaknesses, even my favorite food

And perfume.

Truly, You are familiar with all my ways

For Your hands have held me securely,

And guided me thru it all.

Someday You will call me back into Your everlasting

Presence where darkness cannot hide me,

And not even physical death can erase my name

For it is there written in the palm of Your hand

–My name, my being

Known by You and cherished

Forever…

Leave a Reply

